Congratulations, seniors!

May 27, 2020

Congratulations to our seniors! Here are a few announcements of awards that will appear in the Commencement issue of Nota Bene (coming very soon!).

Thesis Prizes 

Ancient History Prize 

for a thesis on Ancient History 

Alejandro Quintana 


Smyth Thesis Prize  

for a thesis on Greek 

Lydia Cawley 


Pease Thesis Prize 

for a thesis on Latin 

Sasha Barish 


Hoopes Prize

for an outstanding undergraduate thesis 

Christopher Colby, Caroline Engelmayer, Alejandro Quintana 


Captain Jonathan Fay Prize

for an outstanding and imaginative undergraduate thesis 

Alejandro Quintana 


Senior Prizes 

Arthur Deloraine Corey Fellowship  

for graduate study 

Christopher Colby, Sheridan Marsh, Liam Warner 


Louis Curtis Prize 

for excellence in Latin 

Caroline Engelmayer 


William King Richardson Scholarship 

for distinction in both Greek and Latin 

Alejandro Quintana 


Department Prizes 

for academic achievement and contributions to the Classics community 

Julie Effron, Samantha Hand, Micah Johnson-Levy,
Sheridan Marsh, Sam Puopolo, Ben Roy


Additional Awards Won by Graduating Seniors 

The Bowdoin Prize for Greek translation has been awarded to Liam Warner (’20) and to Molly Goldberg (’22). 

The Bowdoin Prize for Latin translation has been awarded to Caroline Engelmayer (’20). 

The David Taggart Clark Prize for the Undergraduate Latin Commencement Oration has been awarded to Caroline Engelmayer ('20).  

Lydia Cawley (’20) has been awarded the Pearson Fellowship to pursue an MPhil in Classics at Jesus College, Cambridge, next year, where she will continue the interest that she has developed in 20th- and 21st-century Arabic receptions of classical texts, under the guidance of faculty in both Classics and Middle Eastern Studies. 

Caroline Engelmayer (’20) has been awarded a Harvard-Cambridge Scholarship to pursue an MPhil at Emmanuel College next year. (link:

One undergraduate student has earned recognition in the competition for this year’s John J. Winkler Memorial PrizeEllis Yeo (’20) has won the undergraduate Winkler Prize for her essay, "Love’s Grief Work: Reading Ancient Greece in the AIDS Elegies of James Merrill." 

Ben Roy (’20), is one of two seniors in the College to be awarded the Aloian Memorial Scholarship for demonstrating thoughtful leadership and improving the quality of life in their Houses (in Ben’s case, Kirkland). 

The following Classics Concentrators were nominated to Phi Beta Kappa this academic year: Lydia Cawley (’20) and Alejandro Quintana (’20).